2014 Wrap-up and Racing Resolutions

I know, I know.  It’s almost February 2015 and I am just getting around to posting my 2014 wrap-up.  If you go by the lunar calendar, then this post is just-in-time.  The tardiness of this post pretty much sums up the year — 2014 was insanely busy.

On the home front, my poor boys were constantly sick.  I think my 18-month-old had a fever every other week!  My 4-year-old started pre-school and brought home all kinds of germs.  Also, I think I can sum up pre-school with two words: Birthday Parties.  Holy cow.  For a period there, we had a birthday party EVERY weekend.  I should stock up on pre-schooler birthday gifts just to have it handy!

On the work front, it was a great year.  It took me a couple of years but I stood up an awesome team at work and things were just starting to come together and getting some serious recognition.  Just in time for managers to move me to lead another project!  Now, the move did come with a nice promotion to a senior position and a nice raise, so no complaints.

Running, Racing, Resolutions

On the running front – this has been an epic year for me as a runner.  Starting in March 2014 with meeting my goal of running a Marathon within a year of having my second baby.  Not only did I complete the Marathon (prior to the course time limit), I achieved a personal record by shaving off 36 minutes from my previous personal best.  Then again in November 2014, I was able to slim down my marathon time by 12 more minutes when I completed the Richmond Marathon (new PR: 5:26).

IMG_0252

What I Have Learned In 2014

I don’t know if it is easy for anyone to run a marathon.  It is a mental and physical challenge, one that I have fallen in love with.  What I want to celebrate as a result of my running in 2014 isn’t the PRs but what I have learned from racing:

1. Do Not Let Others Define Your Limits.  People don’t say negative things out of meanness.  In fact, the most discouraging comments about my running have been uttered by close family and friends with the best of intentions. You know yourself best.  Don’t give away the power to define your own limits.

2. If Your Goals Don’t Scare You Just A Little, Then It Is Not Set High Enough. Do what scares you. Just a little.    It is a wonderful feeling to know you conquered your fears.

3. Celebrate Your Achievements. It’s OK.  It’s not self indulgent to do it. Now, I’m not talking here just buying new gear (though I am known to do that…).  I found myself minimizing my achievements.  “You ran a marathon?!  That is amazing” “oh, yeah, I did.  But I’m so slow…”  Can you imagine if your best friend or family just ran a marathon after training for it all winter long and you say to them “yeah, I guess you finished, but man were you slow!”   I would never say that or feel that way so why should I tell myself that?

Looking To 2015

I don’t usually set “new year’s” resolutions.  I guess I usually set goals all throughout the year. But this year, I decided to do things a little differently.  In fact, I am not setting any racing goals… I am setting anti-racing goals.

1. No Marathons for 12 months.  I want to focus on getting faster.  Focus on shorter races, nothing longer than 13.1 miles. Do more speed workouts.  Incorporating strength training and swimming.

2. Incorporate My Family Into More Runs.  The shorter runs will allow me to achieve this goal.  In the fall, my son started riding his bike.  We went on many family runs and it was so much fun, and challenging keeping up with him on his bike, that I resolve to do more of it this year!

IMG_0258

I hope this belated post finds everyone happy and healthy.  I wish all of you an awesome New Year 🙂

Be fearless and run on.

One thought on “2014 Wrap-up and Racing Resolutions

Leave a Reply

