Raising Little Men

I have no idea how to be a good mom.  There. I said it.  I let my kids watch television. My 14 months old just had his first popsicle. And when the boys are bad, I raise my voice at them.  I probably over use time-outs…It’s true.  When it comes to being a parent, I never know the right thing to say.

photo (8)

I recently signed up to be a volunteer with a local charity organization to work with under privileged children in my community.  With all the violence and unrest in the world, I hoped that whatever good deeds I can do will feed some positive energy into the universe. (Yes. I am crazy…a hopeless optimist).

Last night was my first time volunteering and I had a great time.  I had decided to bring my four-year-old with me.  I don’t think he fully understood why we were there but it didn’t matter.  He had a wonderful time.  He played with the kids.  Made new friends.  He didn’t care that they were “under privileged” or poor or orphaned — didn’t even understand what that meant.

At the end of the night, my son turned to me with the biggest smile on his face and said “Mommy, can we come back please?”

I’m never going to be the perfect mom. I don’t even know what that means. What I do know is that if I can have more nights like the one I had with my son – bringing joy to others and having a wonderful time doing it – then I have succeeded.  My kids drive me to be a better human being so that I can lead by example for them as they grow up.

That was all I needed.

Celebrating Our First Volunteer Night

Fro Yo to Celebrate Our First Volunteer Night!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Raising Little Men

Leave a Reply

